Views: 160

Quality management

In order to maintain and further improve its high standard in microbiological laboratory diagnostics, the Institute of Medical Microbiology and Virology at the University Medical Center Göttingen has established a comprehensive quality management system (QMS). The QMS relates to all levels of microbiological diagnostics and hygienic-microbiological examinations performed in the department, as well as the services offered in addition.
In terms of content, the QMS complies with the guideline of the German Medical Association for quality assurance of laboratory medical examinations.

The QMS is documented in a quality management manual (QMH). Likewise, all workflows are comprehensively set out and described in procedural instructions (VAN) and all examination procedures performed in standard operating procedures (SOPs). Information relevant to senders is summarized in a service specification.
Internationally recognized guidelines are adhered to or applied, in particular the:

  • Quality standards in microbiological-infectiological diagnostics, published by the specialist group "Diagnostic procedures in microbiology" of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology (DGHM),
  • Standards and Guidelines (Cumitech) of the American Society for Microbiology (ASM),
  • Standards and guidelines of the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute (CLSI) and the European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing (EUCAST)
  • Specifications of the German Institute for Standardization (DIN EN ISO),
  • Guideline for Hospital Hygiene of the Robert Koch Institute (RKI).

An essential part of quality assurance, in addition to the daily internal quality controls for examination procedures, equipment and reagents, is regular participation in the interlaboratory comparisons (RV) offered in the department (INSTAND, Institute for Standardization and Documentation in Medical Laboratories e.V.) for external quality control:

RV (annual participation)

Bacteriology A (2x);bacterial genome detection (2x); TB/mycobacteriology II, III, IV (2x); mycology (2x); parasitology (2x); bacteriological infection serology (2x); mycological infection serology (2x); parasitological infection serology (2x); virus immunology (2x); virus genome detection (2x).

Another important aspect of the QMS is the provision of comprehensive information for senders and clients on the tests performed and, in particular, on pre- and postanalytics (e.g. sample collection, storage and transport), which is stored in the service catalog on the institute's homepage.

By including all areas and activities of the Diagnostic Department in the QMS, this should ensure a comprehensive QMS (TQM = Totally Quality Management) on an ongoing basis, with the goal of "Good Use of Laboratory Medicine (GULM)".

Scroll up

Views: 160

Qualitätsmanagement

Um seinen hohen Standard in der mikrobiologischen Laboratoriumsdiagnostik zu erhalten und noch weiter zu verbessern, hat das Institut für Medizinische Mikrobiologie und Virologie der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen ein umfangreiches Qualitätsmanagementsystem (QMS) aufgebaut. Das QMS bezieht sich auf alle Ebenen der in der Abteilung durchgeführten mikrobiologischen Diagnostik und hygienisch-mikrobiologischen Untersuchungen, sowie der darüber hinaus angebotenen Dienstleistungen.
Inhaltlich erfüllt das QMS die Richtlinie der Bundesärztekammer zur Qualitätssicherung laboratoriumsmedizinischer Untersuchungen.

Das QMS ist in einem Qualitätsmanagement-Handbuch (QMH) dokumentiert. Ebenso sind alle Arbeitsabläufe in Verfahrensanweisungen (VAN) und alle durchgeführten Untersuchungsverfahren in Standardarbeitsanweisungen (SOPs) umfassend dargelegt und beschrieben. Für die Einsender relevante Informationen sind in einem Leistungsverzeichnis zusammengefasst.
Dabei werden international anerkannten Richtlinien eingehalten bzw. angewandt, insbesondere die:

  • Qualitätsstandards in der Mikrobiologisch-infektiologischen Diagnostik, herausgegeben durch die Fachgruppe “Diagnostische Verfahren in der Mikrobiologie” der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Hygiene und Mikrobiologie (DGHM),
  • Standards und Richtlinien (Cumitech) der American Society for Microbiology (ASM),
  • Standards und Richtlinien des Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute (CLSI) und des European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing (EUCAST)
  • Festlegungen des Deutschen Institutes für Normung e.V. (DIN EN ISO),
  • Richtlinie für Krankenhaushygiene des Robert Koch-Institutes (RKI).

Wesentlicher Bestandteil der Qualitätssicherung ist, neben den täglich durchgeführten internen Qualitätskontrollen für Untersuchungsverfahren, Geräte und Reagenzien, die regelmäßige Teilnahme an den im Fachgebiet angebotenen Ringversuchen (RV) (INSTAND, Institut für Standardisierung und Dokumentation in medizinischen Laboratorien e.V.) zur externen Qualitätskontrolle:

RV (jährliche Teilnahme)

Bakteriologie A (2x); Bakteriengenomnachweis (2x); Tbc/Mykobakteriologie II, III, IV (2x); Mykologie (2x); Parasitologie (2x); bakteriologische Infektionsserologie (2x); mykologische Infektionsserologie (2x); parasitologische Infektionsserologie (2x); Virusimmunologie (2x); Virusgenomnachweis (2x)

Ein weiterer wichtiger Aspekt des QMS ist die Bereitstellung umfassender Informationen für Einsender und Auftraggeber zu den durchgeführten Untersuchungen und insbesondere zur Prä- und Postanalytik (z.B. Probenahme, -lagerung und -transport), die im Leistungskatalog auf der Institutshomepage hinterlegt sind.

Durch Einbeziehung aller Bereiche und Tätigkeiten der Diagnostischen Abteilung in das QMS soll dieses fortlaufend ein umfassenden QMS (TQM = Totally Quality Management) sicher stellen, mit dem Ziel des “Good Use of Laboratory Medicine (GULM)”.

Nach oben scrollen