History of the institute

The 19th century was characterized by epidemics, the exact causes of which were still largely unclear and therefore a dispute broke out between supporters of the miasm theory and the contagion theory. As a result, the first hygiene institute in the German-speaking world was founded in Munich in 1865.

The Göttingen Institute was then founded in 1883 by Prof. Dr. Carl Flügge (1883-1887, see photo)
as the first hygiene institute in Prussia and was still located at Kurze Geismarstr. 11. He was a student of Max von Pettenkofer and Robert Koch and was able to close the gap between the two doctrines: both environmental influences and bacteria are involved in the development of diseases. His doctoral student Arthur Nicolaier succeeded in clarifying the etiology of tetanus.

Under Prof. Dr. Gustav Wolffhügel (1887-1899, see photo), also a student of Pettenkofer, the institute moved to Geiststr. 4. 

His successor was Prof. Dr. Erwin von Esmarch (1899-1911) see photo, a student of Robert Koch and son of the famous surgeon Friedrich von Esmarch. He succeeded in incorporating the newly founded Medizinaluntersuchungsamt into the premises of the Institute. His research achievements include the quantitative determination of Bacterium coli in water (Göttingen method) and the agglutination and identification of typhoid bacteria.

He was followed by Prof. Dr. Hans Reichenbach (1911-1934), who had already worked at the institute before and founded the Göttingen MTA School in 1926.  

In 1940, under Prof. Dr. Franz Schütz (1934-1945 and 1950-1955), the institute moved to its current location, Kreuzbergring 57. This building was the former orphanage of the city of Göttingen. of the city of Göttingen, which in later years was used as a dormitory for student nurses and was then used until 1940 as the 1940 it functioned as a house for the Hitler Youth. Under Franz Schütz the electron microscope was also used to detect polioviruses from 1950 onwards. of polioviruses. His staff carried out a wide range of research work, including typhoid fever and the sporulation of sporulation of anthrax bacteria.

Prof. Dr. T.J. Bürgers was head of the institute from 1945 to 1950. He initiated the foundation of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology (DGHM) and acquired the first electron microscope in Lower Saxony to study the spore development of anthrax bacteria. Prof. Dr. Henning Brandis (1957-1967) worked on bacteriophages and the lysotyping of Salmonella. Early on, he devoted himself to antibiotic resistance in various bacteria, including MRSA.

Under Prof. Dr. Reiner Thomssen (1968-1999), a new scientific focus of the institute was established with virological topics, especially on rubella, hepatitis and papilloma viruses. Under his colleague Prof. Dr. Reinhard Rüchel, mycology was developed. In 1973, the chair was initially separated into Medical Microbiology and General Hygiene/Tropical Hygiene (Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Bommer) and then in 1979 into Immunology (Prof. Dr. Otto Götze).


Since 1999, the institute has been headed by Prof. Dr. Uwe Groß. As a result of the Corona pandemic, the denomination was expanded to Institute of Medical Microbiology and Virology in 2022.

Scroll up

Views: 354

Geschichte des Institutes

Das 19. Jahrhundert war geprägt von Seuchen, deren genaue Ursachen noch weitgehend unklar waren und daher ein Streit zwischen Anhängern der Miasmen- und der Kontagientheorie entbrannt war. In der Folge wurde 1865 in München das erste Hygiene-Institut im deutsch-sprachigen Raum gegründet.

Das Göttinger Institut wurde dann 1883 von Prof. Dr. Carl Flügge (1883-1887, s. Foto)
als erstes Hygiene-Institut in Preußen gegründet und hatte seinen Standort noch in der Kurze Geismarstr. 11. Er war Schüler von Max von Pettenkofer und Robert Koch und konnte die Kluft zwischen den beiden Lehrmeinungen schließen: Sowohl Umwelteinflüsse als auch Bakterien sind an der Entstehung von Krankheiten beteiligt. Seinem Doktoranden Arthur Nicolaier gelang es, die Ätiologie des Tetanus‘ aufzuklären.

Unter Prof. Dr. Gustav Wolffhügel (1887-1899, s. Foto), ebenfalls ein Schüler Pettenkofers, erfolgte der Umzug des Instituts in die Geiststr. 4. 

Sein Nachfolger war Prof. Dr. Erwin von Esmarch (1899-1911) siehe Foto, ein Schüler von Robert Koch und Sohn des berühmten Chirurgen Friedrich von Esmarch. Ihm gelang die Aufnahme des neugegründeten Medizinaluntersuchungsamts in die Räumlichkeiten des Instituts. Zu seinen Forschungserrungenschaften zählen die quantitative Bestimmung von Bacterium coli im Wasser (Göttinger Verfahren) und die Agglutination und Identifizierung von Typhusbakterien.

Ihm folgte Prof. Dr. Hans Reichenbach (1911-1934), der bereits vorher im Institut tätig war und 1926 die Göttinger MTA-Schule gründete.  

Unter Prof. Dr. Franz Schütz (1934-1945 und 1950-1955) erfolgte 1940 der Umzug des Instituts an seinen jetzigen Standort, den Kreuzbergring 57. Bei diesem Gebäude handelte es sich um das ehemalige Waisenhaus der Stadt Göttingen, das in späteren Jahren als Wohnheim für Schwesternschülerinnen genutzt wurde und dann bis 1940 als Haus der Hitlerjugend fungierte. Unter Franz Schütz wurde das Elektronenmikroskop ab 1950 auch zum Nachweis von Polioviren eingesetzt. Seine Mitarbeiter führten vielfältige Forschungsarbeiten durch, zu denen auch Typhus und die Sporulation von Milzbrandbakterien gehörte. 

Prof. Dr. T.J. Bürgers hatte die Institutsleitung in der Zeit von 1945 bis 1950 inne. Er initiierte die Gründung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Hygiene und Mikrobiologie (DGHM) und schaffte das erste Elektronenmikroskop Niedersachsens an, um die Sporenentwicklung von Milzbrandbakterien zu untersuchen. Prof. Dr. Henning Brandis (1957-1967) beschäftigte sich mit Bakteriophagen und der Lysotypisierung von Salmonellen. Schon früh widmete er sich der Antibiotikaresistenz bei verschiedenen Bakterien, u.a. auch bei MRSA.

Unter Prof. Dr. Reiner Thomssen (1968-1999) wurde mit virologischen Themen v.a. zu Röteln, Hepatitis- und Papillomaviren ein neuer wissenschaftlicher Schwerpunkt des Instituts gesetzt. Unter seinem Mitarbeiter Prof. Dr. Reinhard Rüchel erfolgte ein Aufbau der Mykologie. 1973 erfolgte zunächst eine Trennung des Lehrstuhls in Medizinische Mikrobiologie und Allgemeine Hygiene/Tropenhygiene (Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Bommer) und 1979 dann eine Abtrennung der Immunologie (Prof. Dr. Otto Götze).


Seit 1999 steht das Institut unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Uwe Groß. In Folge der Corona-Pandemie wurde die Denomination 2022 in Institut für Medizinische Mikrobiologie und Virologie erweitert.

Nach oben scrollen